Adult Things: 21 Life Lessons I Learned The Hard Way

When life gives you lemons, make some orange juice and let them wonder how you fucking did it.

 

1449057204004

Life is all about learning things the hard way. They say that experience is the best teacher and I couldn’t agree more. Here are some things that I have learned throughout my journey. I hope they are lessons that you can relate to and that it may help you in some way.

  1. All things go. The bad news: nothing lasts forever. But do you know what the good news is? NOTHING LASTS FOREVER. I always find myself holding on to things that are fleeting; temporary happiness, grudges, embarrassment, insecurities, words left unsaid. It took some time for me to finally realize that all things, the good and bad, will eventually pass us by. Live in the present. Savor the moment and know how to let go when it’s time.
  2. Don’t waste sunsets with people who will be gone by sunrise. As much as I believe that it is a work of fate, I also believe that it is through conscious efforts that we get to keep, and let go, of the people that come our way. I think it is important that we learn to be unafraid of letting people in, and to have the courage to get rid of those who are toxic for us.
  3. Get over yourself. It’s time to get off your high horse and stop thinking that you are the center of the universe. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Personally, this is something that I am still struggling with.
  4. Do not lose yourself in fear of losing someone. I will never forget that Sunday morning when I woke up and stared blankly at the ceiling, feeling empty and disappointed with what I have become. I once loved someone so dearly that I changed everything about me just to meet his standards. I changed the way I dressed, the way I speak, the music I listened to, the friends I hang out with, and even the way I felt towards certain things. When things went bad between the two of us, I became the person I swore I will never be. I was jealous, angry, sad and pathetic. And all because of love? There must be something wrong. It got really tiring and all the time I kept wondering “is it still worth it?” It’s not. You know what the worst part is? When he left, I didn’t even have myself because she was already gone. I was blinded and it took a lot of heartache and courage to gain my sight back. Looking back, I’m relieved that I am no longer in that relationship but at the same time, I am grateful because it is indeed a lesson that I will forever remember. Do not lose yourself because at the end of the day you are all you have. 
  5. Never apologize for the way you feel.
  6. There are necessary evils. The bad will always come with the good.
  7. Do not let your feelings get the best of you. 
  8. The only way to know parts of yourself is through other people. There was a time in my life that I isolated myself from people because I simply thought that they do not affect my life. I was too wrapped up in my own shell that I didn’t realize how much I was missing on. Interaction and communication goes a long way in discovering things about yourself that you might not have even imagined.
  9. If people use you, it’s because you let them. 
  10. You will be constantly torn between holding on and letting go.
  11. Sometimes it’s okay to cross oceans for people who will not cross puddles for you.  Just make sure that you are doing it for the right reasons. Life is not, and will never be, fair. You can’t always expect people to do the same for you. That’s just how life is. I have always believed that the entire human population survives because of selfless and unconditional love. You never really lose anything through giving a little bit more of yourself. In this crazy, selfish world that we live in, be one of those people who are generous and loving.
  12. Stop punishing yourself.
  13. You can get out of that dress but you will never get out of that skin. 
  14. No good deed goes unpunished. 
  15. Some people are rain, some come as drizzle while some are hurricanes. In life, you will meet a lot of people, and they will all affect you one way or another. The amount of time you spent together is not important because the intensity of their presence is what’s important. To quote a line from Love and Other Drugs, “You meet thousands of people and none of them really touch you. And then you meet one person and your life is changed forever.”
  16. Comfort can be terribly blinding. It is so easy to confuse love and comfort. Just because there is some sort of ease between two people, it doesn’t necessarily mean that there is something there. I guess what I’m just trying to say here is you should take some time to fully evaluate the situation and your feelings before jumping into conclusions. Doing so will actually save you from hurting yourself and other people.
  17. Life is an acquired taste. The more you expose yourself to life, the more you will appreciate it even when it’s not very pleasant on its own.
  18. It’s okay to feel lost sometimes. Sabi nga ni  Kumareng Jessie J, “It’s okay not to be okay”
  19. Empathize. It doesn’t hurt to put yourself in other people’s shoes. Studying nursing has helped me a lot in learning how to empathize.
  20. Choose your battles. Someone once asked me how I would like people to remember me. I wasn’t sure as first, but after giving it some thought, I realized that I want to be remembered as someone who choose her battles wisely.
  21. When life gives you lemons, make some orange juice and let them wonder how you fucking did it. Be that unicorn who vomits rainbows and butterflies. Stand out. You do you.

5 thoughts on “Adult Things: 21 Life Lessons I Learned The Hard Way

  1. “When life gives you lemons, make some orange juice and let them wonder how you fucking did it.” – This line captured me. This is a really good article, numbers 4, 8, 15 are so on point. 👌

    Like

  2. I was reading past comments in my posts when I read yours and got really curious about you. This was the first article of yours that I read mainly because the title was interesting. For someone so young, your life lessons were like from someone whose lived a longer life than I did, and I envy you. This is really good, deep and very on point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

